Economic Development Indices

Economic Development Indices in $9 only

BACKGROUND :  All countries are not economically equal. According to the World Bank, countries can be divided up into four categories (see the Introduction PowerPoint for a map of which countries are classified in which categories):

  1. High Income Economies
  2. Upper Middle Income Economies
  3. Lower Middle Income Economies, and
  4. Lower Income Economies

You might also see the use of the terms More Developed Countries (MDC’s) and Less Developed Countries (LDC’s) to differentiate between countries and their level of economic development (this is more politically correct). More Developed Countries are countries like the United States. Less Developed Countries are countries like Somalia.